DehumidifierReviews

When you buy through our links, we may earn a commission. Learn more ›

Dehumidifier Wattage: How Much Power Do They Use

Short answer: A wattage figure on a dehumidifier listing is the seller's stated power draw in watts. This site does not measure wattage; the number is read on the listing and on the maker's page. To estimate running cost, take the listed wattage, convert to kilowatts, multiply by hours of use, and apply the rate on your electricity bill. Energy Star program pages explain the integrated energy factor used to rate dehumidifiers.

What wattage means on a dehumidifier listing

Wattage is the power draw a manufacturer states for a dehumidifier, printed on the listing and in the product manual. Reviews on this site compare it only as a stated detail: they do not measure wattage against a meter. The figure is read as the seller writes it, and the maker's page is the place to confirm it.

A dehumidifier title rarely names wattage. The wattage line appears in the bullet list or the specifications table beside the title, often next to the capacity in pints and the area figure. When a listing omits wattage, the detail is marked as not stated by the seller, and the maker's product page is the place to look.

Wattage is not the same as the capacity in pints per day. Capacity states how much water the unit is rated to remove in 24 hours; wattage states the power it draws while doing so. A listing carries the two as separate lines, and both should be read as stated details.

Capacity groups and the wattage line

This site groups dehumidifiers by the pint figure in their titles: a 30-pint group, a 50-pint group, a 70-pint group, a 100-pint group and a 150-pint commercial group. The pint figure is a listing word, as is the wattage line beside it. The main review guide lists how the groups are compared.

A title that names a higher pint figure usually pairs with a higher wattage figure on the same listing, but the pairing must be read, not assumed. Two units in one capacity group can state different wattage figures, because each seller lists its own numbers for its own model.

When a title carries two capacity figures, such as an old pint word and a new pint word, the wattage line belongs to the model as it is currently labeled. The maker's page clarifies which figure the wattage accompanies.

The Energy Star program and the integrated energy factor

The Energy Star program, run by the EPA and the Department of Energy, certifies dehumidifiers that meet its criteria. The Energy Star page states that a certified dehumidifier uses about 20 percent less energy than a comparable conventional unit to remove the same amount of moisture. That statement belongs to the program, not to any listing on this site.

The program measures energy performance with an integrated energy factor, in liters of water removed per kilowatt-hour of energy consumed. A higher integrated energy factor means better energy performance, as the Energy Star page explains. For a certified model, the figure appears on the Energy Star product page for that model.

The Department of Energy sets minimum energy standards for dehumidifiers, and the Energy Star mark is only read on a listing that names it. A title that omits the mark is not assumed to carry it.

Why pint labels changed after 2020

The Department of Energy changed how dehumidifier capacity is measured in 2019, and the Energy Star page lists the result for shoppers: a unit that carried a 50-pint label before 2020 carries about a 30-pint label under the new measurement, and a 70-pint old unit carries about a 40 to 45-pint new label. The new measurement runs in cooler air that resembles a basement, so less water is available to remove.

This matters for energy questions because the wattage line on a listing belongs to the model as it is currently labeled. A new 30-pint title and an old 50-pint title may describe the same machine, so the wattage figure, not the pint word, is the detail to read when estimating energy use.

Estimating the running cost from your own bill

A wattage figure is a starting point, not a bill. To estimate what a dehumidifier costs to run, read the wattage on the listing or the maker's page, multiply it by the hours the unit runs in a day, and divide by 1,000 to get kilowatt-hours. Multiply by the days in a month, then apply the rate printed on your electricity bill.

Run time depends on the space and the humidity conditions in it, which a listing does not state for your room. The maker's manual describes how the unit operates. A unit with a pump or a larger capacity group may carry a higher wattage line, which raises the estimate; see basement dehumidifiers with a pump for listings that state the detail.

The math is the reader's own. This site does not state wattage for any model, does not know a local electricity rate, and does not predict a monthly cost.

Comparing wattage across two listings

To compare two dehumidifiers on energy use, read the wattage line on each listing and the capacity line beside it. Wattage by itself does not tell which unit removes more water per kilowatt-hour; that relation is the integrated energy factor, which a maker publishes for a certified model.

A review on this site compares stated details and marks a detail as not stated by the seller when the listing does not print it. For certified models, the Energy Star 50 to 99 pint guide lists listings that name the mark. 100-pint basement units and commercial dehumidifiers cover the larger capacity groups.

What a review on this site cannot tell you about energy

Reviews on this site compare stated details from listings: capacity words, area words, pump and hose words, controls and price tiers. They do not measure wattage, energy use, moisture removal or noise, and they do not promise that any unit lowers a bill or pays for itself.

Guidance on moisture and mold in the home is published by the EPA and the CDC; the EPA brief guide is linked in the sources. An energy article does not replace that guidance, and this site does not state energy figures for any model.

What to pick for your situation

If youPickBuying guide
You want to compare stated details across capacity groupsRead the main review guide, which groups listings by use and specificationBest Dehumidifier Reviews (2026): 11 Models Compared by Use and Spec
You want a certified model and plan to read its Energy Star product pageThe Energy Star 50 to 99 pint guideBest Energy Star 50 to 99 Pint Dehumidifiers (2026): 10 Reviewed
Your basement unit needs a pump and you want to compare wattage linesThe basement pump guideBest Basement Dehumidifier With Pump (2026): 11 Models Reviewed
You are choosing a small room unitThe small room dehumidifier guideBest Small Room Dehumidifiers Under $200 (2026): 6 Models Reviewed
You are choosing for a large or unfinished basementThe 100-pint basement guideBest 100 Pint Basement Dehumidifiers (2026): 9 Models Reviewed
You are choosing for a commercial space or a job siteThe commercial dehumidifier guideBest Commercial Dehumidifiers (2026): 15 Models Reviewed

Questions

Is a higher pint count always a higher wattage?

A higher pint title usually pairs with a higher wattage line on the same listing, but the pairing is a listing detail, not a rule. Read the wattage on each listing instead of assuming it from the pint word, and read the maker's page when the listing omits it.

Where do I find the wattage for a dehumidifier?

In the bullet list or specifications table beside the title, and on the maker's product page. When a listing does not print wattage, the review marks it as not stated by the seller.

What is the difference between watts and kilowatt-hours?

A watt is the power at a moment; a kilowatt-hour is the energy used when 1,000 watts run for one hour. To estimate a bill, convert watts to kilowatts, multiply by hours of use, and apply the rate on your electricity bill.

Does the Energy Star mark mean a unit uses less energy?

The Energy Star program states that a certified unit uses about 20 percent less energy than a comparable conventional unit. The mark must be named on the listing; this site does not assume it for a title that omits it.

Why does a new unit show a smaller pint count than an old unit?

The Department of Energy changed the measurement conditions in 2019, and the Energy Star page lists a rough correlation: a 50-pint old unit is about a 30-pint new unit, and a 70-pint old unit about a 40 to 45-pint new unit.

Can a review on this site tell me my monthly running cost?

No. Reviews compare stated details from listings and do not measure wattage or energy use. Estimate the cost from the wattage on the listing and the rate on your electricity bill.

Recent updates

  • : First published.

Sources

Related buying guides