DehumidifierReviews

When you buy through our links, we may earn a commission. Learn more ›

Integrated Energy Factor: What It Means

Short answer: The Integrated Energy Factor (IEF) is the energy-efficiency rating used on newer dehumidifier listings. It measures, in liters of water removed per kilowatt-hour of energy consumed (L/kWh), how much moisture a unit can remove for the electricity it draws. A higher IEF means a more efficient dehumidifier, per the Energy Star program. IEF replaced the older Energy Factor rating in 2019 and, unlike the older figure, includes the energy a unit uses when it has cycled off. Read the IEF value on the maker's page; a listing may or may not name it.

What the integrated energy factor means

The Integrated Energy Factor is the energy-efficiency metric that newer dehumidifier ratings use. The Energy Star program describes it as the efficiency of a dehumidifier measured in liters of water removed per kilowatt-hour of energy consumed, written as L/kWh. In plain words, the number expresses how much water a unit can be expected to remove for each unit of electricity it draws, both while running and while it sits cycled off.

A higher IEF value means a more efficient dehumidifier, per the Energy Star program's description of the metric. The value belongs on the maker's product page or data sheet, and a listing may copy it into the bullet list. This article explains the term so a buyer can read the number on the maker's page and compare listings within the same capacity group; it never prints a figure for a specific model. For the older figure that IEF replaced, see what a good energy factor is.

Why IEF replaced the older Energy Factor

The U.S. Department of Energy finalized new energy conservation standards for dehumidifiers that took effect in June 2019. Those standards are based on the Integrated Energy Factor, which replaced the old metric, the Energy Factor. The difference matters: the old figure counted only the energy a dehumidifier used while it was actively removing moisture, while IEF also includes the energy the unit uses when it has cycled off.

Because IEF accounts for the off state too, it more closely represents the expected annual energy consumption of a dehumidifier, per the DOE's description of the standard. That is why newer listings carry an IEF rating instead of an Energy Factor figure; a listing written before 2019 may still show the older figure. See Energy Factor versus Energy Star and annual energy use in kilowatt-hours for the surrounding terms.

Pint figures changed under the new rating

The new rating procedure also changed how capacity is reported. Portable dehumidifiers are now rated at 65 degrees Fahrenheit instead of 80 degrees, a closer match to a basement setting. Cooler air holds less moisture, so a unit rated under the new procedure reports a smaller pint figure than the same unit would under the old procedure. This is why a buyer replacing an older unit may see a lower number on a comparable new model.

Energy Star publishes a rough correlation between the old and new portable ratings: an older 30-pint portable now rates around 20 pints, a 50-pint around 30, a 70-pint around 40 to 45, and a 90-pint around 55. Whole-home units shift similarly, with an 80-pint unit now around 70 pints and a 200-pint unit around 170. These are rough figures from the Energy Star page and vary by model; the maker can give a direct comparison for a specific unit.

The pint figure on a new listing is a capacity label, not a promise about a room. The site never converts a pint figure into a coverage area. For how to read those labels, see how many pints a room needs and pint figures versus real rooms.

Reading IEF next to the other listing words

On a listing, the IEF value sits next to the capacity, kind, pump, hose and area words. The metric is independent of those words: it says nothing about whether a unit has a pump or a bucket, how the drain hose connects, or the square footage a title prints. Those are separate choices. For the water-handling words, see pump versus gravity drain and what a pump does.

When a listing names an IEF value, read it next to the capacity group and the kind word. When a listing does not name the metric, treat the absence as a missing detail: the seller did not state it. The maker's product page usually names the IEF value and the conditions it was measured under; that page is the best place to confirm the figure before buying.

IEF and the Energy Star mark

The Energy Star mark is a separate certification that rests on the same DOE ratings. The Energy Star program states that a certified dehumidifier uses more efficient refrigeration coils, compressors, and fans to remove the same amount of moisture as a similarly sized conventional unit while using 20% less energy.

A listing that names the Energy Star mark points to that certification program; the site never states the mark for a title that does not name it, and it never promises bill savings. Before comparing Energy Star models, read the ENERGY STAR product page for the specific unit. For Energy Star models in the 50 to 99 pint group, see the Energy Star 50 to 99 pint guide.

What IEF cannot tell a buyer

IEF is an energy-efficiency label, not a promise about moisture removal speed, noise, pump lift, hose length, operating range, or durability. Those are separate listing terms with their own source pages. A rating also is not a bill figure; actual energy use depends on run time, the space, and the humidity levels the unit sees.

Moisture in a home is a separate matter from the energy rating. The EPA and CDC publish guidance on mold and moisture control in a home; the EPA guide is linked in the sources of this article. This article does not restate that guidance. For a full comparison of stated details across models, start with the main reviews guide.

What to pick for your situation

If youPickBuying guide
You want an Energy Star model in the 50 to 99 pint groupCompare the Energy Star 50 to 99 pint picks and read the IEF on each maker pageBest Energy Star 50 to 99 Pint Dehumidifiers (2026): 10 Reviewed
You are replacing an older 70-pint portable and comparing new modelsRead the main reviews for stated details, including the capacity groupBest Dehumidifier Reviews (2026): 11 Models Compared by Use and Spec
You need a 100-pint class unit for a large basementRead the 100 pint basement picks and check the IEF on the maker pagesBest 100 Pint Basement Dehumidifiers (2026): 9 Models Reviewed
The unit must have a pump in the 50 to 99 pint groupRead the pump picks and treat IEF as one detail beside the pump wordBest 50 to 99 Pint Dehumidifiers With a Pump (2026): 9 Models Reviewed
You are choosing a commercial or job-site unitRead the commercial picks and compare IEF within the commercial categoryBest Commercial Dehumidifiers (2026): 15 Models Reviewed
You are shopping within a budget tierUse the budget-tier reviews and compare the stated details, IEF includedBest Dehumidifiers Under $500 (2026): 3 Models Reviewed

Questions

What does IEF stand for?

Integrated Energy Factor. It is the energy-efficiency metric used for dehumidifiers rated since the 2019 DOE standards.

Is a higher IEF better?

Yes. The Energy Star program states that a higher integrated energy factor means a more efficient dehumidifier, removing more liters of water per kilowatt-hour of energy consumed.

Why does a new listing show a smaller pint figure than the old unit?

Since 2019, portable dehumidifiers are rated at 65 degrees Fahrenheit instead of 80 degrees, closer to a basement setting. Cooler air holds less moisture, so the reported pint figure is smaller even for a comparable unit.

Where do I find the IEF for a model?

Usually on the maker's product page or data sheet. A listing may name the value in liters per kilowatt-hour; when it does not, the seller did not state it.

Does IEF tell me anything about the pump or hose?

No. The water handling details are separate listing words. IEF is only an energy-efficiency label.

Can I compare IEF across portable and whole-home units?

Comparisons work best within one category, because DOE sets separate minimum efficiencies for portable and whole-home dehumidifiers and they are measured under different conditions.

Recent updates

  • : First published.

Sources

Related buying guides