DehumidifierReviews

When you buy through our links, we may earn a commission. Learn more ›

Dehumidifier Noise Levels: What Decibel Numbers Mean

Short answer: A decibel figure on a dehumidifier listing is a stated detail from the seller, not a value this site measures. The site reviews only what the listing prints and records a missing figure as "not stated by the seller". Compare numbers within the same capacity group, read the maker's page for how each figure was reported, and treat a number as a claim rather than a verified reading.

What a Decibel Figure on a Listing Means

A decibel figure on a dehumidifier listing is a number the seller prints next to the title, usually in the bullet list or the specification table. It is a stated detail, in the same family as the pint figure and the square-foot figure. A listing may print a sound level in decibels, or it may print no figure at all. This site's dehumidifier reviews treat the figure exactly as a stated detail: the review records it when the listing names it and leaves it out when the listing does not.

Decibels are a unit for sound pressure level, measured on a logarithmic scale. The scale compresses a very wide range of sound pressures into a small range of numbers, which is why a small difference between two printed figures can represent a large difference in pressure. A figure on a listing tells you how the seller chose to report its sound. It does not tell you how the number was measured unless the maker's page explains the method.

Because the figure is a stated detail, the review repeats it as printed and adds nothing to it. No review converts a decibel figure into a room-size or a pint-group prediction.

What a Review and a Listing Cannot Tell You

The catalogue and the site's reviews carry no measured noise data. No reviewer places a meter beside a running unit, and no listing is checked against a laboratory reading. The only noise information available is the number a seller chooses to print, and that number is read on the listing.

When a listing does not name a decibel figure, the review records that detail as "not stated by the seller". That phrase describes the listing, not the unit. A missing number does not mean a unit produces more or less sound than a titled one; it means the seller did not report a value. The review makes that distinction clear.

Because there is no measurement, no review promises a sound level for a room and no review promises a comparison between units. The reader should treat a printed decibel number as a claim to compare against the maker's own page, not as a verified reading.

How to Compare Noise Numbers Across Brands

To compare two listings, read the same line on each. A decibel figure printed on an ALORAIR title is compared with a decibel figure printed on a hOmeLabs or GE title only as printed numbers. The maker's page is the place to look for how each figure was obtained, so a comparison across brands begins on the listings and continues on the maker sites.

Compare units in the same capacity group. A small-room title in the 30-pint group and a basement title in the 70-pint group are different products with different fans, and the site does not translate one number into the other. The pint group is the label used across all reviews here, so reading two listings in the same group keeps the comparison on the same terms. For a step-by-step way to read pint figures, see pints per day as a label.

A commercial title in the 100-pint or 150-pint group is built for a different setting than a closet unit. If a job site or workshop is the use, compare commercial titles with commercial titles; the commercial buying guide keeps those reviews in one pool.

Capacity Groups and What They Suggest

Capacity groups on this site are labels taken from the listing title, such as the 30-pint, 50-pint, 70-pint, 100-pint and 150-pint groups. A larger group generally goes with a larger air-moving fan, and a larger fan tends to produce more sound. That is a general observation about how units are built, not a measured claim about any listing.

The site never uses a capacity group to predict a decibel figure. The group tells you which reviews a unit appears in and which buying guide fits. The decibel figure, when one is printed, is read on the listing itself.

A listing that names no decibel figure stays in its capacity group without a noise number. The review will say the seller did not print one, and the buyer can decide whether to keep that listing on a shortlist.

Placement and the Way Sound Reaches You

Where a unit stands changes how much of its sound reaches the person in the room, even though the unit's printed number, when one exists, does not change. The maker's manual describes where to place the unit: a level floor and clearance from walls. Following those instructions is the only placement advice this site gives; for basement placement, read corner placement as a general note.

A bedroom, a home office, a bathroom and a garage are different situations. A reader buying for a bedroom or office may weigh a printed decibel figure more heavily than a reader buying for an unfinished basement or a workshop. That is a shopping preference, not a rating. For bedroom and office use, the small-room reviews are the matching pool.

The site does not advise on dampening sound, building enclosures, or modifying a unit. Those steps are beyond the stated details and beyond the manual's place-and-clearance instructions.

Reading Brand Reviews for a Noise Detail

Brand reviews on this site, including the ALORAIR reviews, the hOmeLabs reviews, and the GE reviews, are built from the same stated details as any other review. A brand review records a decibel figure when the listing prints one and marks it "not stated by the seller" when it does not.

Model names in a maker's line are codes, not descriptions. A decibel figure, if present, belongs to a specific model listing, not to the brand as a whole. Read the figure on the model you are considering and check the maker's product page for the method behind it.

What to pick for your situation

If youPickBuying guide
You will place the unit in a bedroom or home officeA small-room listing that names a decibel figureBest Small Room Dehumidifier Reviews (2026): 6 Models Compared
Your basement is a finished living spaceA basement listing and check the stated number on the maker's pageBest Basement Dehumidifier With Pump (2026): 11 Models Reviewed
You compare a 30-pint and a 70-pint titleCompare stated figures only within the same capacity groupBest Dehumidifier Reviews (2026): 11 Models Compared by Use and Spec
You keep to a budget tierA basement review in that tierBest Basement Dehumidifier Under $300 (2026): 12 Models Reviewed
You need a job-site or commercial unitCommercial titles compared with commercial titlesBest Commercial Dehumidifiers (2026): 15 Models Reviewed
You shop by brandA brand review that lists which models print a decibel figureBest ALORAIR Dehumidifier Reviews (2026): 9 Models Compared

Questions

Is a decibel figure on a listing a measured value?

It is a stated detail printed by the seller. This site does not measure noise and does not verify the figure. Read the maker's page for how the figure was reported.

Can I compare a 50-pint title and a 100-pint title on noise?

Only as printed numbers in the same review format. The two titles sit in different capacity groups, so compare within a group and read each maker's page. The site does not translate one group into another.

What if the listing does not name decibels?

The review records the detail as "not stated by the seller". The missing number is a fact about the listing, and it does not tell you whether the unit produces more or less sound than another.

Does a larger capacity group mean more noise?

Larger capacity groups generally use larger fans, but the site does not predict a decibel figure from a group and never states a range. Read the figure on the listing when one is printed.

Where do I find the noise number for a model?

On the listing's bullet list or specification table, and on the maker's product page. The review repeats only what the listing prints.

Recent updates

  • : First published.

Sources

Related buying guides