Whole House vs Portable Dehumidifiers: Which to Choose
Short answer: A portable unit is a freestanding machine you move room to room; a whole-house unit is installed with ductwork by a licensed professional. On a listing, the words tell you about placement and water handling: portables often carry a bucket or pump, whole-house units connect to a drain. The pint figure is a rating label under the DOE method, not a coverage promise. Read the maker's page for installation and drain requirements before you buy.
What 'portable' and 'whole house' mean on a listing
The word 'portable' on a dehumidifier title names a freestanding unit with its own power cord, a removable bucket or a drain connection, and wheels or handles for moving it between rooms. The word 'whole house' (also written 'whole-home') names a unit installed to use the home's air ducts and is often permanent. The ENERGY STAR program describes portable room dehumidifiers as units that dehumidify a single room and can be easily moved, and whole-home units as machines installed to dehumidify one or more rooms through the ducts.
A title may carry only one of these words. A basement listing may say 'portable' while a whole-house listing may say 'ducted' or 'whole house'. If neither word appears, the title usually runs on a capacity group, such as '150 pint', and you would read the maker's page to see whether the unit is meant to be free-standing or installed.
The choice between the two starts with placement. A portable unit is a single machine you can relocate; a whole-house unit is a system that connects to the house. The general review explains how this site compares both kinds on stated details.
Capacity words on both kinds
Both portable and whole-house dehumidifiers carry a capacity rating in pints per day under the U.S. Department of Energy rating method. The pint figure is a label that says how much water the unit can remove per 24 hours at a defined condition; it is not a promise about a specific room. The DOE changed its rating procedure for portable units in 2019, and the new ratings began appearing in 2020. Because the procedure measures portable units at a cooler basement-like temperature, a new rating can be lower than an older one.
The ENERGY STAR capacity page gives a rough mapping between the old and new ratings. A portable that was rated 50 pints can read as 30 pints under the new procedure, and a 70-pint portable can read as 40 to 45 pints. A whole-home unit that was rated 100 pints can read as 85 pints, and a 120-pint unit can read as 100 pints. These numbers come from the DOE rating change, not from this site.
On this site, portable units are grouped into bands such as '50 to 99 pint' and '100 pint' as shopping labels. A whole-house unit appears in the higher bands. The band is a label, not a coverage figure; a high capacity group does not mean a unit dries a larger area by itself.
| Product | Old rating (through 2019) | New approx. rating (2020) |
|---|---|---|
| Portable | 50 | 30 |
| Portable | 70 | 40-45 |
| Whole-home | 100 | 85 |
| Whole-home | 120 | 100 |
Installation and placement
A portable unit is meant to sit on a level floor with clearance from walls, as the maker's manual describes. You can move it between rooms, which is why portables appear in the basement, garage, and small-room guides on this site.
A whole-house unit is a permanent installation. Connecting it to the home's air ducts and routing its drain is a job for a licensed HVAC professional. The ENERGY STAR page notes that the drain should be routed to a floor drain or condensate pump during installation by an HVAC professional. This article does not describe the installation steps.
The first question when choosing is whether you want a machine you can move or a system that is installed. The second is whether your home has ductwork for a whole-house unit. A portable unit does not need ducts and does not require an installer.
Water handling words: bucket, pump, drain
Portable titles carry water-handling words. 'Bucket' means the unit collects water in a removable container. 'Pump' means the unit can push condensate upward through a hose. 'Drain hose' or 'continuous drain' means the unit can run to a floor drain without a bucket. A whole-house title usually names a drain connection and may not offer a bucket at all.
The pump and hose words matter for placement. A basement with no floor drain nearby makes a pump useful; a space close to a floor drain makes a drain hose useful. The maker's page states the hose length and pump lift; those figures are not in the listing and are not stated on this site. The pump guide, the continuous drain guide, and the gravity drain comparison explain the words.
What to read on the maker's page
After reading the listing, check the maker's page for three things: the rating standard behind the pint figure, the drain requirements, and the installation note. A maker that states the 2020 rating is giving you the current figure; a maker that does not may be showing an older number.
The maker's page also tells you what the box contains, what the drain connection looks like, and whether the unit is meant for free-standing or installed use. Take those questions from the review to the maker's page before you decide between kinds.
What this site cannot say
This site reviews on stated details. It cannot measure moisture removal, noise, energy use, or operating temperature, and it never promises that a unit will dry a certain number of rooms or a set square footage. A whole-house unit is not a promise of whole-house drying; the word describes how the unit is installed.
Read the listing words for what they are: labels of capacity, placement, and water handling. Then take the rating questions to the maker's page. If you are dealing with moisture because of mold, read the EPA and CDC mold pages; this article does not restate their guidance.
What to pick for your situation
| If you | Pick | Buying guide |
|---|---|---|
| You need one unit for a single finished basement room | A portable unit from the basement guides | Best Basement Dehumidifier With Pump (2026): 11 Models Reviewed |
| Your basement has no floor drain and you want to empty less often | A portable with a pump | Best Dehumidifier With a Pump Under $400 (2026): 7 Models Reviewed |
| You are comparing units for a garage workshop | A commercial-grade portable | Best Commercial Dehumidifiers (2026): 15 Models Reviewed |
| You rent an apartment and want a unit you can move | A small-room portable | Best Small Room Dehumidifier Reviews (2026): 6 Models Compared |
| You are considering a whole-house unit for a home with central air | Read the general reviews, then ask a licensed installer about ductwork | Best Dehumidifier Reviews (2026): 11 Models Compared by Use and Spec |
Questions
Can a portable unit cover a whole house?
A portable is labeled for a single room or space. The area figure on a listing is the seller's own and is not a coverage promise. For several rooms, you may consider more than one portable unit or a whole-house unit that is installed with ducts.
Do whole-house units have buckets?
Whole-house units usually connect to a drain rather than collecting water in a bucket. Read the listing for 'drain' or 'pump' words. The ENERGY STAR page notes that most whole-home units are equipped with a drain routed during installation.
Do I need an installer for a whole-house unit?
Yes. Connecting the unit to ductwork and routing its drain is a job for a licensed HVAC professional. A portable unit does not need ducts or an installer.
Why do portable listings show lower pint figures than before?
The DOE updated the portable rating procedure to a cooler, more realistic basement condition in 2019, and the new ratings began appearing in 2020. A new '30 pint' rating can correspond to an old '50 pint' rating. The ENERGY STAR capacity page gives a rough old-to-new mapping.
Are whole-house units more expensive?
Prices are not stated on this site. The ENERGY STAR page notes that whole-home systems can be expensive and that they are typically installed. Compare tiers, not prices, when you shop.
Where do I find the drain hose length or pump lift?
Those figures are not in the listing and are not stated on this site. Read the maker's page for hose length, pump lift, and the drain connection.
Recent updates
- : First published.