DehumidifierReviews

When you buy through our links, we may earn a commission. Learn more ›

Dehumidifier for 5000 Sq Ft: What You Need

Short answer: A '5,000 sq ft' figure on a dehumidifier listing is the seller's own area label, not a coverage promise. The pint rating is a capacity label, stated in pints per 24 hours, and this site never converts capacity to a floor area. Airflow is a stated fan spec, and the pump and hose words describe how collected water leaves the unit. Compare the capacity band, the kind, and the drain options, and read the maker's page for the rating standard.

What '5,000 Sq Ft' Means on a Listing

A listing that says '5,000 sq ft' uses the seller's own area figure. It is a label the seller puts in the title to describe the space the product is aimed at, not a promise that the unit will dry that entire area. This site groups listings by the area word in the title, and the 3,001 to 5,000 sq ft band is one of those groups; the 3,001 to 5,000 sq ft guide compares that group.

The area figure never carries a capacity number. A title can pair '5,000 sq ft' with a 100-pint or a 150-pint capacity label, and the two are separate listing words. Read each on the listing and on the maker's page; this site never converts one to the other. For more on how area figures read on a listing, see area figures as seller labels.

For guidance on moisture and mold in a home, read the EPA and CDC mold pages listed in the sources.

Pint Ratings on Very Large Units

Pint ratings are the capacity label of a dehumidifier, stated in pints per 24 hours. This site groups capacity into bands, and for very large spaces the bands you will see are the 100-pint group and the 150-pint group. The 150-pint commercial guide reviews that band.

One unit can carry two pint figures because the U.S. Department of Energy changed the rating procedure in 2019; new ratings are measured at a cooler temperature, so a model can report a smaller number than older listings. The ENERGY STAR capacity page explains the change. This site states the figure the seller states and never picks one for you; see pints per day as a listing term.

The ENERGY STAR buying page offers its own sizing chart that recommends minimum capacity ranges by condition for rooms over 2,000 sq ft, and its highest row for a large room begins at 50 pints per day. A 5,000 sq ft label goes beyond that chart, so the maker's page is the place to read the rating standard and the stated figure; see square feet versus pints.

Airflow and the CFM Label

Airflow appears in some titles as a cubic feet per minute (CFM) figure. It is a listing word that describes the fan's stated airflow, a spec the seller prints next to capacity. It is not a coverage number for a floor area.

Read the CFM figure on the listing and on the maker's page, where you can see the conditions the figure assumes. This site reviews the figure only as a stated detail and never turns it into a room size; see airflow explained.

Kind of Unit: Compressor, LGR, Commercial

Titles for very large spaces often name a kind: compressor, desiccant, LGR, or commercial. Compressor units condense moisture on a refrigerated coil; desiccant units use a moisture-absorbing wheel; LGR stands for low grain refrigerant and is a compressor type found in many commercial listings. These are listing words for the technology, not a promise of a result. See LGR meaning.

A title can also say 'whole house' or 'portable'. Whole-house units are installed and ducted, and connecting one to the HVAC system is a job for a licensed installer; this article gives no installation steps. Portable units sit on a floor and can be moved. For the difference, see whole-house versus portable.

Water Handling for a Large Unit

Large units handle collected water through a bucket, a pump, a drain hose, or a combination. 'Pump' in a title means the unit has a built-in condensate pump that can push collected water to a drain; 'drain hose' means the unit accepts a hose for gravity or continuous draining. A single title can name both.

The pump's lift height and the hose's length are not stated by this site; they are questions for the maker's page. The maker's manual describes where a drain hose goes and how to care for a pump. This site reviews the pump and hose words only as stated details; see gravity drain versus pump and hose size and fitting.

What to Read on the Maker's Page

For a 5,000 sq ft label, the maker's page is the primary source for the rating: the capacity figure and the standard it was measured under, the area figure as the maker states it, the operating temperature range, the drain options, and the warranty. Take those details from the maker, not from a review summary.

The ENERGY STAR mark is a separate listing word. ENERGY STAR explains that certified dehumidifiers use more efficient refrigeration coils, compressors, and fans and use 20% less energy than a similarly sized conventional unit. This site states the mark on a title when the seller states it and never claims it otherwise; see Energy Star versus non-Energy Star.

What This Site's Reviews Can and Cannot Say

Reviews on this site are built from the stated details in the listings: capacity group, area group, kind, pump, hose, and features. The site does not print measured moisture removal, noise, energy use, tank size, hose length, pump lift, or durability; those numbers live on the maker's page.

A review compares listings by those stated details and explains how to read them. When the seller does not state a detail, the review says it is not stated. Take the questions from a review to the maker's page before buying; see the review hub.

What to pick for your situation

If youPickBuying guide
Your space is labeled 3,001 to 5,000 sq ftA listing in that area group with a capacity band you can compareBest Dehumidifiers for 3,001 to 5,000 Sq Ft (2026): 12 Models Reviewed
You want the 150-pint capacity bandA 150-pint commercial or portable listing with the pump or hose words as namedBest 150 Pint Commercial Dehumidifiers (2026): 7 Models Reviewed
You want a commercial-grade unitA commercial dehumidifier titleBest Commercial Dehumidifiers (2026): 15 Models Reviewed
You want a portable unit with a pump for a large basementA basement listing that names a pumpBest Basement Dehumidifier With Pump (2026): 11 Models Reviewed
You are comparing LGR-type listingsAn LGR dehumidifier guideBest LGR Dehumidifiers (2026): 4 Models Reviewed
You want to see how reviews read listing detailsThe site's review hubBest Dehumidifier Reviews (2026): 11 Models Compared by Use and Spec

Questions

Do I need a 150-pint unit for a 5,000 sq ft space?

A 150-pint figure is a capacity label on the listing, not a conversion for your floor area. This site groups capacity into bands and never says a given area needs a given band. Compare the stated figures and read the maker's rating page.

Can one portable unit handle a 5,000 sq ft label?

A portable unit is a floor-standing unit that can be moved. The '5,000 sq ft' figure is the seller's area label, not a coverage promise. For a very large space, compare the capacity band, the kind of unit, and the drain options; multiple units or a whole-house unit are options to weigh, and a whole-house unit's duct connection is a job for a licensed installer.

What does CFM mean on a dehumidifier listing?

CFM is a stated airflow figure for the fan, printed by the seller. It is a spec, not a coverage number. Read it on the listing and on the maker's page; this site reviews it only as a stated detail.

Why does one model show two pint figures?

The U.S. Department of Energy changed the rating procedure in 2019, and new ratings are measured at a cooler temperature, so a model can report a smaller number than older listings. The ENERGY STAR capacity page explains the change.

Should I look for a pump on a very large unit?

A pump is a listing word for a built-in condensate pump that can push collected water to a drain. The lift height is on the maker's page. A pump is useful when a drain is not below the unit, but the decision depends on your space; compare pump and hose listings.

Is a 5,000 sq ft listing always a commercial unit?

No. The area word and the kind word are separate listing labels. A title can carry '5,000 sq ft' with a portable, commercial, or whole-house word. Read the kind, the capacity band, and the drain options together.

Recent updates

  • : First published.

Sources

Related buying guides